Fife Coastal Path – Prestonhill Quarry

Dreich.

The weather was pure dreich, one of those days that’s totally uninspiring for photography and I badly needed a dose of Photo-Therapy, it was also an excuse to try out the revised workflow for my photos, so off I went into the dreichness in search for something to photograph.

Plan A was to catch up on a couple of places that I missed last week on the walk between Kincardine to North Queensferry, that was until I got stopped by the police…. well it was a rolling road block and I didn’t fancy following behind their slow moving convoy, so off I went in the opposite direction, following Plan B instead.

Plan B

Inverkeithing was the nearest anything so I headed down to the shore to have a look at the old Prestonhill Quarry as it may be a candidate for a future photo one day.
I parked in a small car park just off Preston Crescent, very handy for the Fife Coastal Path (FCP). The FCP goes behind a busy Stevedore warehouse and no sooner had I went around the warehouse than I bumped into one of my former managers, whom I hadn’t seen since he retired many years before me- small world indeed.

Hav Marlin

The activity was all down to the unloading of the MV Hav Marlin a 1990 ton general cargo ship. I reset the aspect ratio from square to landscape format because I would have not been able to go back far enough to get the whole ship in the picture, having made one exception, I thought that I may as well use colour as well. Here she is in all her glory.

mv-hav-marlin-inverkeithing-6334-copy

MV Hav Marlin

The trim is well down at the bow, it looks like the mooring line is also a bit on the tight side. Most of the cargo is at the front, which may explain the bow down trim.

Prestonhill Quarry

Just beyond the jetty is the now abandoned Prestonhill Quarry. It had a conveyor belt loading system to put rock straight onto a ship. All of the shore side of the pier has disappeared, There is an interesting concrete structure beside the pier, reminds me of a Japanese shrine
prestonhill-pier-inverkeithing-6337-copyprestonhill-pier-inverkeithing-6340-copy

See what I mean?

The quarry rock face was the next point of interest, kind of interesting fissures… well I think so.

prestonhill-quarry-inverkeithing-6354-copy

The quarry was the scene of a recent tragedy when in 2015 an 18 year old boy drowned following an ice bucket challenge that went wrong. The typical knee-jerk reaction by the grown-ups was to fence the quarry off…. and two years later, the fence gates are wide open…. and someone has knicked the fencing!

prestonhill-quarry-inverkeithing-6357-copyprestonhill-quarry-inverkeithing-6356-copy

Doesn’t look like the CCTV camera mounted on the lamp post opposite is working then?

There was another cargo ship making its way into the harbour at Inverkeithing, bound for the RM Metals pier. Many a famous ship has ended her days at that pier, nowadays the main business is scrap car recycling.

mv-luhnau-inverkeithing-6367-copy

It’s a very tight channel and the MV Luhnau, 2450 tons was making slow headway to berth. That’s the old Prestonhill Pier in the foreground. I just could not resist a wee scramble up the edge of the quarry for a better view.prestonhill-path-inverkeithing-6359-copy

The path up to the vantage point is… interesting if not a little jaggy in places.

So there we have it. The photo-therapy went well, and I’m pleased with the way the photos turned out. I hope you agree.

So all I have left to do now is find a spot of nicer weather, stick the boots on and go for a donner along the Fife Coastal Path, but there’s one thing for sure….

Mair tae come

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

