A Red rag to a Bull

I have read that one should never meet ones heros as expectations seldom meets reality and it was partly true of my visit to the Red Bull Collection of aircraft at their Hangar 7 base in Salzburg. I have always wanted to visit this collection and to be honest I came away a little disappointed…

We arrived late in the afternoon, in time to see the DC6 and a Falcon being towed into Hangar 8 and a production crew, in an advanced stage of setting up inside Hangar 7 for some kind of media event. All was not lost, the place was still open although the upper gallery was closed off to the public, which denied me some photographs.

I was using an almost new Fuxj X-Pro1 with the 18 and 27mm lenses, which I had bought a month before to replace my old Canon G10. The Fuji is nice, it’s not a DSLR and is more akin to a Rangefinder than anything else and it did allow me to leave the 1DX at home.
I  meant to bring a white balance card with me as I am never 100% happy with the colour rendition from the Fuji. There are times when I really do not like the auto white balance from the X-Pro1, it seems to be too blue and cold looking to me.

Anyway, the first thing I saw was the Corsair, to be this close to it made up for everything, what a beast this aircraft was.

OE-EAS Corsair

OE-EAS Corsair

This is one mother of a fighter.

Working in a logical pattern, first up was one of two Piper Cubs

OE-AFK Piper Cub

OE-AFK Piper Cub

Interspersed among the aircraft are various racing cars that have worn the Red Bull titles, the unfortunate thing is they mean next to nothing to me, so please excuse my ignorance on this subject.

Red Bull racing car

Red Bull racing car

The other Cub was this machine

OE-COM Piper Cub

OE-COM Piper Cub

Tucked in behind the Cubs is the last flying Sycamore helicopter in the world. If you were to look closely you will see it’s former RAF titles

OE-XSY Sycamore

OE-XSY Sycamore

Next was a Cessna 337, I had to resort to using HDR on a few occasions as it’s one thing being inside a greenhouse for a hangar but it’s another thing not over exposing the ceiling! That’s hangar 8 you see to the right of the picture

N991DN Cessna 337

N991DN Cessna 337

The next aircraft was one of four Red Bull Alpha Jets, which were more or less in the the same basic colour scheme. The unusual thing is this one was wearing Austrian civil markings, while previously they have been wearing German registrations. It got really tight at this part of the hangar, a side-on shot was not really possible.

OE-FRB Alpha Jet

OE-FRB Alpha Jet

The next aircraft was a Bolkow 105 helicopter, unfortunately I made a mess of the photo, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. Next from that was another Alpha Jet, this one was sporting Tiger Squadron markings and very nice it was too.

OE-FAS Alpha jet

OE-FAS Alpha jet

Another Alpha Jet…

D-IADM  Alpha Jet

D-IADM Alpha Jet

… and then a Bell 47, nice to see it not done up in a pseudo MASH colour scheme.

OE-XDM Bell 47

OE-XDM Bell 47

OE-XDM Bell 47

OE-XDM Bell 47

Next was an aerobatic Edge, tucked in beside another Alpha Jet, this one was still on the German register

N540PB Zivko Edge 540

N540PB Zivko Edge 540

D-ICDM Alpha jet

D-ICDM Alpha Jet

D-ICDM Alpha Jet

D-ICDM Alpha Jet

I was keeping the best till last. A real pleasure to see this one again, much closer than I managed to get to it at Duxford last year

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25 an HDR shot

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25 with reflective racing car on the cowling

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

… and finally

N6123C B-25

N6123C B-25

having done all that I decided to put my close proximity and the vibrant colours if the collection to good use and do some Intentional camera Movement. ICM, is not to everyone’s tastes, especially the died in the anorak type of aircraft enthusiast, so please excuse me if this offends your soul

ICM OE-EAS_Saltzburg-20150611-063 ICM-OE-FAS_Saltzburg-20150611-077 ICM N991DM_Saltzburg-20150611-085 ICM N540PB_Saltzburg-20150611-067

That was my visit to the Red Bull, Hangar 7 collection at Salzburg. I would love to go back and take more time with the photography and hopefully get access to the balcony, in fact I’d love to go back to Salzburg, it’s a beautiful place but I do draw the line at repeating the Sound of Music coach Tour!

There’s one thing for sure….

Mair tae come

, , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

