From beyond the void

It feels like to me that this past week or so has been a bit of a blur. I awoke from my night-shift last Saturday morning in a bit of a trance, sleep deprivation does that to me, at times I don’t know if I’m farting or singing, it’s that bad!

Saturday was the first event int he Scottish Aviation events diary, the Fife Flying Club had their annual Easter-Egg fly-in, where the usual landing fee is waived in exchange for a decent sized Easter egg, which will be donated to a local children’s charity. Last year the fly-in was a wash-out and this year had low clouds but it was flyable and a dozen or so pilots ventured forth for Glenrothes.

I was fortunate to be given air side access, going air side anywhere is a heavy responsibility, it’s dangerous out there and you need to have your wits about you at all times as that fancy yellow vest is useless when it comes to protecting you from the effects of straying into a propeller.

I have half of the photos still to process, however this one got priority treatment as I had been waiting for a cloudscape and angle like this for some time and the new colour scheme of the Tayside Aviation Grobs seemed to be the icing on the cake as far as I was concerned.

Tayside Grob

I pulled one or two tricks out of the bag, it is a monochrome with some colour popping with a vignette to bring the eye back to the aircraft. I am happy with it and if you want to see a larger sized version then look no further than here.

Easter Sunday and Monday was spent with my Dad and my darlin’ some more DIY and then it was back to work with a vengence.

This morning was the end of another working week, finishing as always with a night-shift and a walk in the cold but sunny Hatchbank road. Stopping to pick up on of Fin, the Photographers Nightmare’s little pressies, I saw this pole mounted transformer.

Pole mounted Transformer

I have walked by this pole countless times walking the dog but never has it struck me as having any potential, however I worked the shot and came up with this.

The Corona

Positioning my self to just get a tiny portion of the sun with the rest of the scene tweaked in Curves to increase the silhouette, a bit of colour enhancement and finally for effect a little piece of blur… not to mention cloning out a good number of errant greenery, leaving one piece for effect.

 

Right that’s it and as Zebedee said, Time for bed!

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by The Pal Guy on April 15, 2012 - 4:15 pm

    Great photo of the plane. I like how the sun shines through.

Leave a Reply

