Working the shot

You have a feeling in your gut, an image in your mind, you know that the shot is there but, but it’s not happening is it?

I had one of those experiences last night. There is a line of hills overlooking Paisley, called the Gleniffer Braes (A brae is a hill-side) where you can get a great view of Bishopton to the west, through Paisley, Erskine, Inchinnan, Renfrew and a good part of the city of Glasgow and you can see Glasgow Airport from up there. The forecast was for clear skies, and I got clear skies where I did not want them and an orange tinted fug where I wanted to photograph.

I had pre-visualised the shot that I wanted, I wanted a departure shot, light trails climbing into the sky over the lights of Paisley. The trouble was, when I got there and started taking pictures, nothing was happening to me baby. I wasn’t motivated by what I saw in the back of the camera.

Time to start working the shot, the alternative was to concentrate on landings, this was working, it started to work and then again no. The shot still wasn’t right. I came away at the end of the shoot, disappointed and yet somewhat richer for the experience. Now I know what doesn’t work so I now have to find what does. It’s important to know when to quit flogging the proverbial dead horse and find something better, as we Scots say, “What’s fur ye, wull na go by ye.” What is meant for you will not pass you by.

All in all it has been a poor set of days off for photography maybe next week…

Cleish Road panoramic

Cleish Road panoramic

I did make this the other day, still playing with panoramic shots. This one was from my morning dog walk. I converted it into a monochrome and bled some colour back into the shot for effect. The dark patch of sky seems to form a nice lead in line towards the trees.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by scott jamieson on March 4, 2012 - 12:26 am

    Absolutely love this photograph Wallace. Amazing what mother nature will give you to play with!

Leave a Reply

