Friday 13th turned out OK for me!

I knew that a friend would be flying his Spitfire today so I had arranged to go up to Scone to take some pictures of it and what a day that turned out to be, an enjoyable run up the motorway, I would have preferred the run through Glenfarg but there would be too many patches of deep shadow, which could potentially hide frost so I gave that a miss.

I arrived at Scone to see a line up of four visiting aircraft on the grass outside the Clubhouse, these guys had flown up from Strathaven making use of the fine weather for a spot of lunch at the Touchdown cafe.

The Strathaven boys face up to a local Hoodie

Left to right is a based Crow, and X’air Hawk, Eurostar, Jabiru and a Kitfox.

I was going to keep the winter’s glow in the picture but opted instead to use a Landscape picture style and a manual white balance.

G-CGWI Spitfire, Scone

This is a Supermarine Spitfire Mk.26 a 2/3 scale replica and is the first time that I have photographed it on the UK register, it was previously Australian registered as VH-IJH.

I managed to miss the Spitfire starting up because I was asked if I could take some air to air photographs of a friends RV12, so after a safety brief we were off, I got the right hand seat in a SkyRanger, which was a new type flown and my friend got some pictures of what was the first RV12 to fly in Europe.

G-RMPS RV12 Highland Perthshire

G-RMPS RV12 Highland Perthshire

Another friend is in the final stages of building an immaculately constructed Zenair. It was built inside this shipping container

G-REGC Zenair Zodiac, Scone

All that was left was to get home before the sun set as eejit here left the house without the ordinary glasses and would look rather stupid riding home wearing sunglasses in the dark.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Gavin on January 14, 2012 - 9:46 pm

    As always great photo’s, like the concept of building in-side the container compact and narrows down the “where did I put that”.

    Cheers

    Gavin.

  2. #2 by bikeal on January 15, 2012 - 5:06 am

Leave a Reply

