Ikarus in the sunshine

I’m so fortunate that I can combine a trip to Screwfix with a visit to Perth Airport, they may be at different ends of the town but hey, they are almost neighbours!

I wasn’t expecting to see anything, when I left the house as the hangar doors were both closed on the webcam picture, so I only took the wee Canon G10 camera with me, however when I got there a few intrepid pilots had ventured out across what turned out to be a treacherously icy apron and into the air.

There was a new Quik GT-450 flexwing microlight to photograph in the hangar. I got the exposure right on the third attempt with +1EV on the flash and -1EV on the camera only to discover when I got back to the house that there was a dirty great big lump of something was on the lens, which could not be cloned out. Ah well whits fur ye, will nae go bye ye…. aye right. I’ll spare you the naff photo

I caught one of the regulars out on the apron in the glorious winter sunshine, the reflection of the glass-like ice apron made the photo. The bit of dirt was in the sky and easily cloned out… I even managed to clone out my shadow, which I had not noticed when I was making the picture. Slap on the wrist fro me.

G-DNKS Ikarus, Scone

The best one today was a Irish Helicopters Squirrel, which dropped into Scone for lunch while on powerline checking duties. The pilot, turned out to be a photographer and a Canon user at that. Unfortunately the helicopter was sitting in the deep shadow cast by the tower, so nothing ventured, nothing gained, I asked him if he would hover in the sunshine for me so I could get my photograph and…

G-PDGI Squirrel, Scone

Thanks very much. Job done!

, , ,

  1. #1 by URL on December 30, 2011 - 4:42 am

    I believe other website owners should take this site as an example , very clean and wonderful user genial style . 435414

  2. #2 by bikeal on January 5, 2012 - 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

